University oganisation and operations

Université Bretagne Loire is a Community of Universities and Institutions (ComUE), as defined by the Law n°2013-660 of 22 July 2013 relating to higher education and research.
It is a public institution with a scientific, cultural and professional character (EPSCP).

Members Committee

Members Committee, supervisory body
The Members Committee provides cohesion to members. Each school, irrespective of the number of students, staff or its location, has one representative. The committee will be extended to associate members, giving them consultative voting rights, when they have been selected (ongoing). A major task of the committee, promoting cohesion and trust between its members, is to make recommendations on all decisions to be deliberated by the board of directors.
The committee is associated with preparing the work and application of the decisions of the board of directors and the Academic Committee.
The committee is consulted before defining a site project, at the signature of the contract for a site and the adoption of the university’s budget.
Since 25 April 2016, the Members Committee has met 11 times. It has given recommendations on all matters submitted to the Board, approved the site projects and new associate members, and approved major decisions relating to doctorates and to setting up research departments.

Board of Directors

Board of Directors, the decision-making body
The members have decided to restrict the Board of Directors to 48 members:

  • 24 members are appointed: 16 representatives from the member institutions, 2 representatives from the associate members, 2 representatives from the Brittany and Loire regions, 2 representatives from joint municipal authorities, and 2 representatives from the socio-economic sector appointed by the CESER (Economic, Social and Environmental Committee of Brittany and the Loire region)
  • 24 members are elected: 12 lecturer-researchers, teachers and researchers, 6 representatives of other staff, 6 representatives of university users (students).

Their mandate is for four years, with the exception of university users (elected for two years) and the representatives from the joint municipal authorities (for three years).
The Board of Directors determines university policy after deliberation. They approve the budget and supervise its application.
After the elections organised on 14 and 15 March 2016, the University’s Board of Directors was convened on 25 April 2016 and proceeded to elect a President. The University’s Vice-Presidents were also elected.
It has met five times and approved matters of importance, such as the University site project, the doctorate accreditation dossier, the expertise dossier for the ICC project, the request for the University’s adoption of RCEs (broader competences and responsibilities), the accounts for the University’s first financial year, social results, the make-up of the Technical Committee and the University’s CHSCT (committee supervising health and working conditons), etc.

Academic Committee (AC)

The Academic Committee, the body in charge of the university’s strategic orientation in education and research
The Academic committee is composed of:

  • 38 appointed members: 1 representative from each member institution, 6 members from outside the university and 6 representatives from companies, local and regional authorities, from EPCI joint municipality organisations and associations
  • 116 members elected by direct suffrage: 70 lecturer-researchers, teachers and researchers (35 representative from rank A and 35 representatives from rank B), 23 from other members of staff, 23 university users

With the aim of representing the diversity of member institution profiles, and playing the role of a Senate, the Academic Committee includes 154 members, of whom 116 are chosen by proportional representation with elected seats shared among institutions according to their size in the electoral college. The size of the committee guarantees a diverse representation of the University community.  
The AC was convened on 20 June 2016 and elected Mr. Rachid EL GUERJOUMA as President. It met on 19 September and 17 October to debate and give an opinion on the University site project.
3 Commissions were set up within the committee to make recommendations to the AC through their work:
the AC Research Commission, convened on 30 March 2017
the AC Education Commission, convened on 25 April 2017
the AC Student Life Commission, convened on 14 February 2017

Regional Councils

The Regional Councils, working together to support regional strategies
Attractiveness, economic dynamism, international prestige… all elements that have led the University’s project promoters to very quickly grasp the great importance of a body such as this for the regions.
Setting down roots in the regions, and creating and cultivating relations of trust with the regional players are vital needs. This is why the regional councils are members of the Board of Directors and the Academic Committee.
The main aim of the Brittany and Loire Regional Councils is to ensure harmony between the University’s strategic project and the regional orientation for higher education, research and innovation in both regions.
Through their exchanges, recommendations and proposals, each regional council contributes to the University’s general orientations and strategic plan.
These councils, headed by the University President, are made up of regional authorities, the chief education officer of the education authority or his representative, the Regional Delegate for Research and Technology (DRRT in French) and the Vice-Presidents of the University.
These key structures in the University are an opportunity for regular exchanges with the regional authorities to develop shared projects. Their work will ensure harmony between the University’s strategic project, the site contract, the plan to improve student life and social advancement, and the main regional orientations for higher education, research and innovation in both regions.  
Planned to be held at least once a year, the first Regional Councils were organised on 8 and 9 September 2016.

Strategic Orientation Committees

For each of the University’s main missions – research, training, international development, digital technology, innovation and economic development – a Strategic Orientation Committee (COS in French) has been set up on the basis of an approach shared by the directors of the members institutions.
These COSs, made up of University Vice-Presidents, advisors from schools and institutions, are political spaces to co-build the collective project.
The COSs were set up in the last quarter of 2017 and were mobilised to finalise the site project and its application.
They meet regularly and now include the new associate members of the University.


Department organisation is currently ongoing. You can see the document presenting the provisional department organisation online here.