Doctoral schools

Doctoral schools’ missions

  • Provision of courses
  • Allocation of funding and recruitment of PhD students
  • Monitoring of PhD students’ progress and of the quality learning environment
  • Organisation of scientific and intellectual exchanges between PhD students

11 doctoral schools are at work in the following subjects and themes :

Site’s doctoral centres

The site doctoral centres bring together doctoral researchers from all subjects throughout the region: 

  • Angers
  • Brest
  • Le Mans
  • Lorient/Vannes
  • Nantes 
  • Rennes 

The site doctoral centres’ mission is to: 

  • Provide cross-disciplinary courses 
  • Coordinate between the region and the site
  • Give administrative support to Doctoral Schools
  • Organise events involving doctoral schools on the site

They also support the doctoral schools and the Doctorate School in implementing doctoral policy at Université Bretagne Loire.